Dec 4, 3 years ago

A Night of Sobriety, Formal Clothing, and Abstinence

A Night of Sobriety, Formal Clothing, and Abstinence

St. Andrew’s Awards Banquet

The St. Andrew’s Banquet is special because we’re all there for the same reason: to see everyone, enjoy each other’s company, and celebrate what was a remarkable TSRFC rugby season. Thanks to everyone who came, and congratulations to all the award recipients!  Special thanks to Social Director Sarah Mitchell/Marshall for all her hard work this season.

Men’s 1st xv:
MVP: Dan Gordon
MIP: Duncan McIlroy (Diablo)
1st xv Captain (Mike Homer Award): Dan Gordon

Men’s 2nd xv:
MVP: Andrew Swales
MIP: Jamie Williams

Men’s 3rd xv:
MVP: Nishanth Selva
MIP: Egor Avrutin

Men’s Player’s Player: Duncan McIlroy

Women’s 1st xv:
MVP: Fiona Boyd
MIP: Sarah Mitchell
1st xv Captain (Ann Hebert Award): Linda Mariangela/Fiona Boyd

Women’s 2nd xv:
MVP: Carly Cook
MIP: Bryna Robertson

Women’s Player’s Player: Linda Manzo

Boys MVP (Michael McCreight Award) – Quenton Mclean-Lavado
Girls MVP (Now the Carolyn McIntosh Award) – Joanna Alphonso

President’s Trophy: Michael Loney
Howie Hoag Award: Linda Manzo

An amazing time was had by all. Extended thanks goes to Duke Pubs/The Duke of Devon for being simply outstanding hosts. Also to Paige Stewart for the phenomenal photography! Her great work on our night can be seen here, and please take the time to check out her other albums on her Facebook page here.

Paige, please don’t lose the pictures – they’re the only memories of the night any of us have. Except for maybe Porty.

Junior Girls MVP now has a St. Andrew’s Trophy!

 The Club had never had a Junior Girls MVP Trophy before this St. Andrew’s, and Carolyn McIntosh, a former player, has generously offered to sponsor the trophy! Carolyn first joined the Toronto Scottish in 1993. Only 16, she was the first women’s “junior”. Since then she’s contributed to the development of the women’s side as both a first and second team player, including playing for the club during the women’s domination of the OWL with 11 League championships and 9 Cup championships from 1998 – 2011. Though she recalls her favourite year as 2010 when as captain she led the 2s to an undefeated season.

She’s also supported the club off the field as the Women’s Director. Carolyn is excited to sponsor the Junior Girls MVP trophy. “I think the Junior’s program is a great opportunity to rebuild and continue the successful legacy of the women’s teams. It invites young women into this club and hopefully into developing long term associations with the Scottish. This trophy will help to recognize their contributions to both the club and the future of the women’s teams.”

The Import v Domestic Hockey Game

Saturday, December 27th, 12-2pm at UCC, $20/person for the ice.
Domestics are encourage to bring any extra equipment to loan out to the Imports, as most arrive on a wooden ship only with an empty bottle of whiskey. Helmets required!  Fans are encouraged to come and support your team!


Nothing is possible without our sponsors; click on either logo to give them a well-deserved visit. If you’re interested in becoming a beloved sponsor of TSRFC, please visit our Sponsorship page here or email our Club President.

300x185_duke01               300x185_globeandmail



Share "A Night of Sobriety, Formal Clothing, and Abstinence" via

More in Alumni
Mar 28, 12 months ago

Registration 2017 is OPEN!!!

Our 2017 registration session is officially live and ready to go. Check out the registration page for further details:…

Read   Comments are off
Mar 2, 1 year ago

Pre-season Training

Pre-season training is upon us. Time to dust those boots off, stretch out those hammies and show everyone the fruits of your off-season training regimen (for some of us, a.k.a the Winter Muffin-top). Details as follows: March 11: 1-3pm – UCC bu…

Read   Comments are off
Oct 11, 1 year ago

McCormick Cup 2016

Join us for the McCormick and Gee Gage Cup Finals Come out to celebrate premier rugby in Ontario at Fletcher’s Fields on Saturday, October 22. Game times are (*updated): Gee Gage Cup Final: 12:00 PM – T. Scottish vs Bay Street Pigs McCorm…

Read   Comments are off